Home Uncategorized Former EU Commissioner for Climate Action joins Danfoss Board

Former EU Commissioner for Climate Action joins Danfoss Board

by dbdh

Former EU Commissioner for Climate Action and Danish Minister Connie Hedegaard has been elected member of the Danfoss Board at the Annual General Meeting on April 29. There is a good match between Connie Hedegaard’s competences and Danfoss’ efforts to exploit the huge potential of energy efficiency worldwide and create climate impact.

Chairman of the Danfoss Board Jørgen M. Clausen on the Group’s new Board member: “I am very pleased to welcome Connie Hedegaard to the Board. Because of her experience as a Minister and an EU Commissioner, Connie Hedegaard has a unique background. Internationally she is known for her extreme competence within climate, environmental and energy issues, and her skills are a very good match for Danfoss.”

Connie Hedegaard on joining the Danfoss Board: “With a wide range of energy-efficient technologies and climate-friendly solutions, Danfoss plays a key role in the world’s shift to a greener and more sustainable consumption of energy and resources in general. As a member of the Board, I look forward to contributing to the continued development of Danfoss as a strong global company, and helping ensure full use of the extensive potential.”

Connie Hedegaard is the former Danish Minister for Environment and Minister for Climate and Energy and was EU Commissioner for Climate Action between 2010 and 2014. Currently, she chairs the sustainability foundation, KR Foundation, and the green think tank, CONCITO. She is also the Chairman of OECD’s Round Table on Sustainable Development. Finally, she is the Chairman of the Danish Public Service Committee, and a Board member of Aarhus University in Denmark.

Connie Hedegaard was a member of the Danish Parliament for the Conservative Party from 1984-1990 and in 2005-2009. She has a degree in history and comparative literature from Copenhagen University.

As a member of the Danfoss A/S Board, Connie Hedegaard will replace CEO of Dong Energy Henrik Poulsen, who stepped down as a Board member at the end of 2015. The remaining members of the Danfoss Board include Jørgen M. Clausen, William Ervin Hoover Jr., Kasper B. Rørsted, Björn K.O. Rosengren, Mads-Peter Clausen, Dr. Jürgen Reinert, Sandra Nørgaard Bertelsen, Jens Peter Nielsen and Lars Grau.

Source: Danfoss